Bob Pyle, left, signs in to vote for the Tuesday, April 3, municipal election at the Cedar County courthouse as poll workers Cheryl Sloan, Jim Leonard, Ramona York and Rose Harring prepare the ballot. Results from the election will appear in next week’s edition of the Republican.

Last-minute filings have resulted in a four-way race for Cedar County collector in the Tuesday, August 7 primary. The final date for candidate registration was Tuesday, March 27.

With no Democrats filing for any county offices, the Republican nominees will likely be elected in the Tuesday, Nov. 6 general election, although independent and third-party candidates still could run.

William “Gene” Branstetter, Lisa Nelson, Carlyn Battey and Lisa Bough-Burkdall are all hoping to replace Joan Haines as collector. Haines chose not to seek re-election.

Heather York and Brenda Hamby are vying for county clerk. Incumbent Peggy Kenney is running for county treasurer.

Kenney faces Tammie Papenfuhs in the treasurer’s race. Incumbent Ronnie Miller is not running.

In the race for recorder of deeds, incumbent Carole Wilkerson is challenged by John Dawson.

Meanwhile, presiding commissioner Marlon Collins, prosecuting attorney Ty Gaither and circuit clerk Melinda Gumm are all unopposed for their respective offices and, barring a late write-in campaign, each will serve another term.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.